Portrait OF A unique, BELOVED SINGER-SONGWRITER

Marie-Mai has an impressive track record that many artists would envy, here and abroad: 4 Platinum albums during her career, while her latest is certified Gold; 12 concerts at the Bell Centre; nearly 2 million spectators in various venues and festivals; Female Artist of the Year at the Gala de l’ADISQ 5 times (2016, 2013, 2012, 2011 and 2010); a Platinum Ticket and 3 Gold Tickets for her three latest tours; a DVD certified Quadruple Platinum; and the list goes on…

2003 à 2006 – Star Académie & Inoxydable

Born in Varennes, Marie-Mai got her start in 2003 during the first edition of Star Académie, reaching the women’s finale. It was the launching pad she was dreaming of.

The following year, in 2004, she released her debut album Inoxydable, which was followed by a tour that lead her to perform throughout Quebec. Her drive and energy, heightened by electrifying rhythms, allowed her to build a massive fan base.

In 2006, she crossed the Atlantic and released Inoxydable in France. To date, more than 120,000 copies have been sold in Quebec and France. Early into her career, Marie-Mai already showed that she packed a punch and that she was determined to push forward.

2007-2008 – Dangereuse Attraction

Her second album, Dangereuse Attraction was released in 2007, thrilling the new star’s thousands of fans. The first three singles – Qui prendra ma place, Mentir and Emmène-moi – reached #1 on the charts. It was a frenzy! A new tour was organized to meet the demand of fans who wanted to see Marie-Mai. Dangereuse attraction Live brought the awesome stage performer to every corner of Quebec. She closed the tour by performing for the very first time at the Bell Centre in Montreal.

The young singer’s popularity was undeniable. She received a Gold Ticket for having sold 50,000 tickets. The impact of Dangereuse attraction and the tour of the same name was considerable, leading to her very first Félix at the Gala de l’ADISQ 2008, in the Rock Album of the Year category. 2007 and 2008 were years that allowed Marie-Mai to establish herself as an essential part of the Quebec record and live music industry, and the best was yet to come!

2009-2010 – Version 3.0

Version 3.0 confirmed that Marie-Mai was the most popular singer-songwriter in Quebec. Elements of rock, pop and electro mingled in an intoxicating, dynamic way. The album completed a Platinum hat trick for her, selling nearly 100,000 copies. A third tour sent the rocker into orbit: 3 sold-out Bell Centre concerts, and a 2nd Gold Ticket.

At L’ADISQ in 2010, her importance in the Quebec cultural landscape was cemented as she won a 2nd Félix for Rock Album of the Year and was crowned Female Artist of the Year for the first time.

The same year, she performed one of her compositions during the official closing ceremony of the Vancouver Olympic Games, broadcast worldwide to more than 3 billion viewers.

Marie-Mai stood out and was chosen by Sony to sing a virtual duet with the King of rock’n’roll, Elvis Presley. That version of Love Me Tender appeared on Viva Elvis, an album inspired by the Cirque du Soleil show in Las Vegas.

2011 – A busy sabbatical year!

2011 had Marie-Mai riding the momentum thanks to a collaboration with the band Simple Plan on the song Jet Lag, a smash hit on the radio stations of Quebec and France. It also won the Francophone Duet of the Year award at the NRJ Music Awards in Cannes.

At the Gala de l’ADISQ, Marie-Mai won 2 more Félix, namely Singer-Songwriter Concert of the Year for the Version 3.0 tour – which sold more than 50,000 tickets – and Female Artist of the Year for the 2nd consecutive year!

In June, France demanded to see her! She went to Paris to open for the mega-shows by Johnny Hallyday; moreover, she sang a duet with the French rock legend, Vivre pour le meilleur. Over two nights, 120,000 persons discovered Marie-Mai’s hits.

The same year, she became the ambassador of Cosmétiques Annabelle, a collaboration that would last nearly 7 years! Back in Quebec, in July, she lent her voice to the Smurfette in the Quebec French-language version of the animated film The Smurfs.

Then in August, at the invitation of the Canadian Olympic Committee, she went to London to encourage our athletes and entertain them with an intimate concert. While 2011 was supposed to be a sabbatical year, the artist ended up enjoying opportunities she had always dreamed of!

2012-2013 – Miroir

Marie-Mai released her 4th studio album, Miroir, which was instantly embraced by both the public and critics. It was certified Gold only a month into release, as first single C.O.B.R.A.  topped the radio charts.

At the Gala de l’ADISQ 2012, she received her first Félix in the Song of the Year category for her French-language adaptation of Robyn’s international hit Call Your Girlfriend, retitled Sans cri ni haine.

The Miroir tour brought her all over Quebec, including 5 times at Bell Centre.

Marie-Mai discovered her coaching talents during the first season of La Voix, the local version of The Voice, which became a massive success on the TVA network.

She was also featured on the tribute album Génération Goldman, which was certified Diamond in France.

Her duet with Baptiste Giabiconi, Là-bas, was played by radio stations, and the music video scored more than 10 million views.

Marie-Mai once again lent her voice to the Smurfette for the Quebec French-language version of the sequel, The Smurfs 2.

In the fall, the artist released a new single accompanied by a music video: Différents, a song inspired by the life stories of her fans. The song was a major hit on Quebec radio. Marie-Mai then won 2 Félix at the 2013 Gala de l’ADISQ 2013: a third award in the Female Artist of the Year category and the Pop Album of the Year award for Miroir. The album was certified Platinum and a Gold Ticket was awarded to her tour of the same name. Another very successful year!

2014 – M

The star spectacularly concluded her Miroir tour with the 99th and 100th concerts of this outing, presented at the Bell Centre. Marie-Mai has now performed in the Montreal amphitheater 12 times!

M, her 5th album, was finally available. To mark the occasion, Marie-Mai released not one, not two, but three new music videos the same day: Conscience, Tourner and Indivisible. The media then referred to her as “Quebec’s Beyoncé”!

During the summer, the artist toured the biggest festivals of the province with a brand new show featuring her latest material as well as 10 years’ worth of hits.

On July 7, the very night she turned 30, her film Marie-Mai live au Centre Bell: Traverser le Miroir premiered to critical and popular acclaim, as it was screened in more than 50 theatres across Quebec! The DVD/Blu-ray launch of this concert film took place at the Bell Centre, and it was quickly certified Quadruple Platinum!

2015-2016 – A vacation and more achievements!

Marie-Mai devoted the first half of 2015 to a road trip throughout the United States – a well-deserved vacation for the singer-songwriter. At the request of Steve Herman, Senior Vice President of North American Tours at Live Nation Los Angeles, Marie-Mai went to California. In June, she announced two showcase shows at the mythical House of Blues Sunset Strip in Los Angeles, which previously welcomed such musical legends as Prince, Aerosmith and Kanye West. For the first time in her career, Marie-Mai stepped onto an American stage with the goal of charming the members of the American music industry: agents, producers, songwriters…

Upon her return, Marie-Mai took on a new challenge: hosting the big Fête Nationale concert on the Plains of Abraham in Quebec City, a new experience that proved once again that she has every talent! Broadcast on Télé-Québec, the event broke every viewership record of that network.

In July, her show was presented at the Olympic Stadium to highlight the 40th anniversary of the Montreal Olympic Games – a magnificent night, fitting for Quebec’s biggest star!

In the fall, Marie-Mai returned to her coach chair at La Voix, this time for the junior version. This season once again held a massive market share!

At L’ADISQ 2015, Marie-Mai won her 5th Félix as Female Artist of the Year, this time voted by both the public and the industry. It was the 10th Félix of her career!

In September, Marie-Mai announced a project that had rarely been attempted in Quebec: a 22-concert residency at Théâtre St-Denis over 25 days in the months of December and January. The idea pleased her fan base, selling no less than 10,000 tickets in 3 hours. In March 2016, she repeated this achievement in Quebec City, at Théâtre Capitole, with 12 shows over 16 days. A huge challenge, brilliantly met!

This period of great professional success was clouded by a major upheaval. The singer-songwriter separated from her spouse and producer of the last 13 years, Fred St-Gelais; a separation that made a lot of noise in the Quebec cultural landscape.

2017-2018 – Changes !

This period – 2017-2018 – was going to be a turning point in the life and career of Marie-Mai.

With her new boyfriend David Laflèche, Marie-Mai became a mother and gave birth to beautiful Gisèle on February 15, 2017.

After taking a few months off for her family and herself, Marie-Mai came back with a bang in June, hosting the big Fête Nationale concert on the Plains of Abraham for the 2nd time, breaking Télé-Québec viewership records once again.

A few days later, on July 1st, she found herself on stage on Parliament Hill in Ottawa to take part in the festivities for Canada’s 150th anniversary alongside the very famous Bono.

September marked the television return on TVA for the 2nd season of La Voix junior, where Marie-Mai still sat in a coach’s chair. She won the competition thanks to her protégée Sydney, a constantly dazzling young rapper!

While working on her 6th album in early 2018, the singer-songwriter decided to take control of her career. Her growing desire to become in charge of her destiny lead her to decide not to renew her contracts with Productions J after 15 years of collaboration. She assembled her crew and, with wind in her sails, she forged ahead!

Her sixth and latest album Elle et moi came out in November 2018. The two first singles Empire and Je décolle were widely praised on the radio, both reaching the number one position on the charts. The music videos have record views and the artist announced not one or two, but three shows at the Bell Centre for February 2019. This brings her total to 15 solo shows at the Bell Centre, unheard of for a Quebec singer-songwriter! In December, she ended the year by participating in the celebrated Walk of Fame, where she performed a tribute to the late Leonard Cohen.

2019, on a roll!

Just as she is beginning a tour that will take her from the Bell Centre to the Videotron Centre, through all regions of Quebec, Marie-Mai is offered a new challenge, participating as a permanent mentor in the 2nd Season of the popular Canadian show The Launch, alongside the famous Scott Borchetta (Big Machine Records). Released in January on CTV and Vrak (subtitled), this new opportunity revitalizes her dream of the English-speaking career she has wanted for a long time.

What comes next can only be more exciting!

To be continued…

 

 

Marie-Mai - Kérastase
© 2019 Marie Mai Contacts
Tous droits réservés - Conception web sbrstudio.com

Portrait d’une Auteure-compositrice-interprÈte unique et adorÉe

Marie-Mai possède une feuille de route qui ferait l’envie de plusieurs artistes, ici comme à l’étranger : 4 albums Platine en carrière et son plus récent certifié Or ; 12 spectacles au Centre Bell ; près de 2 millions de spectateurs en salles et festivals ; Interprète féminine de l’année au Gala de l’Adisq à 5 reprises (2016, 2013, 2012, 2011 et 2010); un Billet Platine et 3 Billets d’Or pour ses trois dernières tournées ; un DVD Quadruple Platine, et la liste continue…

2003 à 2006  – Star Académie et Inoxydable

Originaire de Varennes, en 2003 Marie-Mai fait ses débuts à la première édition de Star Académie et atteint la finale féminine, c’est le tremplin tant rêvé.

L’année suivante, en 2004, elle lance son premier album Inoxydable, elle poursuit avec une tournée qui l’amène à faire plusieurs spectacles à travers le Québec. Sa fougue et son énergie, décuplées par des rythmes électrisants, lui permettent de se bâtir un solide bassin de fans.

En 2006, elle traverse l’Atlantique et lance Inoxydable en France. À ce jour, plus de 120 000 copies se sont écoulées au Québec et dans l’Hexagone. Déjà, en début de carrière, Marie-Mai montre qu’elle a du punch et qu’elle est déterminée à continuer.

2007-2008  – Dangereuse Attraction

Son deuxième album, Dangereuse Attraction lancé en 2007, exalte les milliers de fans de la nouvelle star. Ses trois premiers extraits, Qui prendra ma place, Mentir et Emmène-moi, se hissent en 1ere position des Palmarès. C’est la folie ! Une nouvelle tournée est organisée pour répondre à la demande des fans qui réclament Marie-Mai. Dangereuse attraction live amène la bête de scène à se produire aux quatre coins du Québec, avec pour clore la tournée, sa toute première présence sur les planches du Centre Bell de Montréal.

La popularité de la jeune chanteuse ne se dément pas. Elle se voit remettre un Billet d’Or pour la vente de 50 000 billets. Les retombées de Dangereuse attraction et de la tournée du même nom sont prestigieuses, ce qui lui permet de remporter son tout premier Félix au Gala de l’Adisq 2008 dans la catégorie Album rock de l’année. Les années 2007 et 2008 permettent à Marie-Mai de s’établir comme une incontournable de la chanson et du spectacle au Québec, et le meilleur reste encore à venir !

2009-2010  – Version 3.0

Version 3.0, confirme Marie-Mai comme l’auteure-compositrice-interprète la plus populaire au Québec. Les accents rock, pop et électro s’entremêlent de manière enivrante et énergique. L’album complète un tour du chapeau Platine en carrière se vendant à près de 100 000 exemplaires. Une troisième tournée amène la rockeuse en orbite : 3 Centre Bell à guichets fermés, et un 2e Billet d’Or.

C’est à l’Adisq en 2010 que se concrétise son importance dans le paysage culturel
québécois : elle remporte un 2e Félix pour l’Album rock de l’année et est couronnée Interprète féminine de l’année pour la première fois.

Dans la même année, elle performe une de ses compositions lors de la cérémonie officielle de clôture des Jeux olympiques de Vancouver, diffusée dans le monde entier devant plus de 3 milliards de téléspectateurs.

Marie-Mai se distingue, Sony la choisit pour chanter un duo virtuel avec le père du rock’n’roll, Elvis Presley. Love Me Tender paraît sur Viva Elvis, album inspiré du spectacle du Cirque du Soleil à Las Vegas.

2011 – Une année sabbatique pas reposante !

2011 pousse Marie-Mai à poursuivre sa lancée grâce à une collaboration avec le groupe Simple Plan sur la chanson Jet Lag qui connaît un énorme succès sur les stations radio du Québec et de la France ; le tube remporte d’ailleurs le prix de Duo francophone de l’année aux NRJ Music Awards à Cannes.

Au Gala de l’Adisq, Marie-Mai remporte 2 autres Félix soit Spectacle Auteur-Compositeur-Interprète de l’année pour la tournée Version 3.0 avec plus de 50 000 billets vendus et se voit couronnée Interprète féminine de l’année pour une 2e année consécutive !

En juin, on la réclame en France ! Elle se rend à Paris afin de se produire en première partie des méga-spectacles de Johnny Hallyday ; de plus, elle interprète en duo avec le monstre sacré du rock français, Vivre pour le meilleur. 120 000 personnes, sur deux soirs découvrent les hits de Marie-Mai.

Dans la même année, elle devient l’égérie des Cosmétiques Annabelle, une collaboration qui durera presque 7 ans ! De retour au Québec, en juillet elle prête sa voix à la Schtroumpfette pour le film d’animation Les Schtroumpfs.

Puis en août, à l’invitation du Comité olympique canadien, elle se rend à Londres pour encourager nos athlètes et les divertir le temps d’un spectacle intime. Alors que 2011 devait être une année sabbatique, l’artiste profite d’opportunités dont elle a toujours rêvé !

2012 – Miroir

Marie-Mai lance son 4e album studio, Miroir, et reçoit immédiatement l’accueil enthousiaste du public et des critiques. Certifié Disque d’Or seulement un mois après son lancement, le premier extrait, C.O.B.R.A., trône en tête des Palmarès radio.

Au Gala de l’Adisq 2012, elle reçoit un premier Félix Chanson populaire de l’année pour l’adaptation en français du hit international de Robyn, Sans cri ni haine.

Sa tournée Miroir la transporte partout au Québec, dont 5 fois au Centre Bell.

Marie-Mai découvre ses talents de coach lors de la première saison de La Voix, émission qui connaît un succès immense sur les ondes du Réseau TVA.

Elle participe aussi à l’album hommage Génération Goldman certifié Diamant en France.

Son duo avec Baptiste Giabiconi, Là-bas, s’adresse aux radios et le lancement du vidéoclip atteint plus de 10 millions de visionnements.

Marie-Mai prête à nouveau sa voix à la Schtroumpfette pour le doublage québécois du 2e film : Les Schtroumpfs 2.

À l’automne, l’artiste lance un nouvel extrait accompagné d’un vidéoclip : Différents, chanson inspirée des histoires de vie de ses fans. La chanson connaît un grand succès sur dans les radios du Québec, Marie-Mai remporte alors 2 Félix au Gala de l’Adisq 2013 : un troisième trophée dans la catégorie Interprète féminine de l’année, et le prix Album pop de l’année pour Miroir. L’album est couronné Platine et un Billet d’Or s’ajoute à sa liste pour la tournée du même nom. Une autre année remplie de succès !

 2014 – M

La star clôt en grande pompe sa tournée Miroir avec ses 99e et 100e représentations au Centre Bell. Marie-Mai s’est maintenant produite sur les planches de l’amphithéâtre montréalais à 12 reprises !

M, son 5e album en carrière, est enfin disponible. Pour souligner l’occasion, Marie-Mai ne lance pas un, pas deux, mais bien trois nouveaux vidéoclips la même journée : Conscience, Tourner et Indivisible ; les médias la qualifie maintenant comme « la Beyoncé du Québec » !

Puis, à l’été, l’artiste part en tournée dans les plus gros festivals de chez nous pour proposer un spectacle inédit basé sur son plus récent opus et ses 10 ans de succès.

Le 7 juillet, le soir même de ses 30 ans, se tient la grande première de son film Marie-Mai live au Centre Bell : Traverser le Miroir, qui récolte les éloges autant de la critique que du public tout au cours des représentations dans plus de 50 salles au Québec ! Le DVD/Blu-ray de cette captation est lancé au Centre Bell et atteint en peu de temps une certification Quadruple Platine !

2015-2016 – Des vacances et un exploit !

Marie-Mai profite de la première moitié de 2015 pour parcourir les États-Unis. Des vacances bien méritées pour l’auteure-compositrice-interprète. Aussi, à la demande de Steve Herman, vice-président senior des tournées nord-américaines de Live Nation Los Angeles, Marie-Mai se rend en Californie. En juin, elle annonce trois spectacles-vitrines au mythique House of Blues Sunset Strip de Los Angeles qui a déjà accueilli dans son enceinte des légendes de la musique telles que Prince, Aerosmith et Kanye West ;  pour la première fois de sa carrière, Marie-Mai foule les planches d’une scène américaine dans le but de charmer les membres de l’industrie musicale des États-Unis : agents, producteurs, auteurs-compositeurs…

A son retour, Marie-Mai relève un tout nouveau défi, celui d’animer le grand spectacle de la Fête Nationale sur les Plaines d’Abraham à Québec, une nouvelle expérience qui démontre, encore une fois, qu’elle a tous les talents ! Diffusé à Télé-Québec, l’événement bat tous les records des cotes d’écoute de cette chaîne.

En juillet, son spectacle est présenté au Stade Olympique pour souligner les 40 ans des Jeux Olympiques de Montréal : une soirée grandiose, à l’image de la star du Québec !

À l’automne, Marie-Mai regagne sa chaise de coach à La Voix, cette fois-ci dans le cadre de la version junior, une édition qui rafle encore la grande majorité des parts de marché !

Aussi, Marie-Mai remporte à l’Adisq son 5e Félix à titre d’Interprète féminine de l’année, octroyé par le vote du public et de l’Industrie. C’est son 10e Félix en carrière !

En septembre, Marie-Mai annonce un projet rarement vu au Québec : une résidence de 22 spectacles au Théâtre St-Denis en 25 jours au cours des mois de décembre et janvier. L’idée plait beaucoup à son public, pas moins de 10 000 billets sont vendus en 3 heures. En mars 2016, l’exploit se répète à Québec, au Théâtre Capitole, avec 12 représentations en 16 jours. Un immense défi relevé avec brio !

Ces 2 exploits sont aussi teintés de grands bouleversements. L’auteure-compositrice interprète se sépare de son conjoint et réalisateur des 13 dernières années, Fred St-Gelais. Une séparation qui fera beaucoup de bruit dans le paysage culturel québécois.

2017-2018 – Du changement !

Cette période, 2017-2018, sera marquante dans la vie et la carrière de Marie-Mai.

Avec son nouveau conjoint David Laflèche, Marie-Mai connaît les joies de la maternité et donne naissance à la belle Gisèle le 15 février 2017.

Prenant quelques mois pour elle et sa famille, Marie-Mai revient en force en juin à l’animation du Grand spectacle de la Fête Nationale sur les plaines d’Abraham pour une 2e année consécutive, raflant du même coup, encore une fois, les records des cotes d’écoute de Télé-Québec.

Quelques jours plus tard, le 1er juillet, elle se retrouve sur la scène de la colline parlementaire à Ottawa afin de participer aux festivités du 150e anniversaire du Canada, aux côtés du très célèbre Bono.

Septembre marque le retour en ondes à l’antenne de TVA, de la 2e saison de La Voix junior pour laquelle Marie-Mai siège toujours à titre de coach. Elle remporte la compétition grâce à son poulain Sydney, une jeune rappeuse qui n’en finit pas d’étonner !

Tout en travaillant à la création de son 6e album, début 2018, l’auteure-compositrice-interprète décide de prendre sa carrière en main ; son désir grandissant de devenir maître à bord de son bateau lui fait prendre la décision de ne pas renouveler ses contrats avec l’équipe de Productions J, après 15 ans de collaboration. Elle monte son équipage et, le vent dans les voiles, elle fonce vers l’avant !

Avec un nouvel album à paraître à l’automne 2018, et une toute nouvelle tournée à prévoir en 2019, Marie-Mai s’avère toujours l’auteure-compositrice-interprète québécoise la plus prolifique des dernières années.

La suite n’en sera que plus exaltante !

 

 

 

Marie-Mai - Kérastase
© 2018 Marie Mai Contacts
Tous droits réservés - Conception web sbrstudio.com